skip to Main Content
Executive Office of the President of the United States seal National Tsunami Hazard Mitigation Program


NTHMP Coordinating Committee

Coordinating Committee

The U. S. tsunami effort is being coordinated by a Coordinating Committee composed of representatives from:
  • National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA) (Chair)
  • Department of Homeland Security/Federal Emergency Management Agency (DHS/FEMA)
  • U.S. Geological Survey (USGS)
  • U.S. coastal states (AK, CA, HI, OR, WA, East Coast, Gulf Coast)
  • Pacific territories/commonwealths (American Samoa, CNMI, Guam)
  • Puerto Rico
  • U.S. Virgin Islands

The NTHMP's actions are guided by the following documents:


The approved voting structure of the NTHMP Coordinating Committee (as agreed at the January 2014 annual meeting) is as follows:

  • American Samoa, AK, CA, CNMI, Guam, HI, OR, WA, Puerto Rico, U.S. Virgin Islands - 1 vote each
  • East Coast States (GA, SC, NC, VA, MD, DE, NJ, NY, CT, RI, MA, NH, ME) - 1 vote
  • Gulf Coast States (AL, FL, LA, MS, TX) - 1 vote
  • FEMA-USGS-NOAA - 2 votes each

Meeting Schedule

  • January 27 - 31, 2014, Annual Meeting
  • Summer Meeting -- Mapping & Modeling Subcommittee and Mitigation & Education Subcommittee,
    August 18 - 22, 2014, Seattle, WA
  • Annual Meeting 2015 -- date/location TBD

Proceedings from Previous Meetings



Home | About the Program | Partners | Publications | About Tsunamis

OSTP - DOC Department of Commerce - NOAA NOAA
Credits | Privacy Policy | Disclaimer | Contact Us