NTHMP Coordinating Committee Meeting Minutes

Thursday, Nov 17, 2022, 4:00 PM - 5:15 PM (EDT)

1. Roll Call: NTHMP Administrator

Alaska

Dr. Dmitry Nicolsky, University of Alaska, Fairbanks, AK

American Samoa

Ms. Elinor Lutu-McMoore¹, American Samoa WSO, Pago Pago, American Samoa

California

Ms. Yvette LaDuke, California Office of Emergency Services, Valencia, CA

Mr. Todd Becker, California Office of Emergency Services, Eureka, CA

Mr. Rick Wilson, California Geological Survey, Sacramento, CA

Commonwealth of Northern Mariana Islands

Mr. Mario Kaipat, CNMI Homeland Security & Emergency Management, CNMI

East Coast States

Mr. Ed Fratto, Northeast States Emergency Consortium, Wakefield, MA

Guam

Ms.Denille Calvo, Guam Department of Homeland Security and Emergency Management, Agana Heights, GU

Mr. Chip Guard, Guam

Gulf Coast States

Dr. Juan Horrillo, Texas A&M University at Galveston, Galveston, TX

<u>Hawaii</u>

Julie Fujimoto, Hawaii Emergency Management Agency, Honolulu, HI

Oregon

Dr. Althea Rizzo, Oregon Emergency Management, Salem, OR

Puerto Rico

Dr. Victor Huerfano, Univ. of Puerto Rico at Mayagüez, Mayagüez, PR

U.S. Virgin Islands

Ms. Regina Browne, Virgin Islands Territorial Emergency Management Agency, St. Croix,

Dr. Roy Watlington, Scientist Emeritus, St. Thomas, VI

Washington

Mr. Maximilian Dixon, Washington Emergency Mgmt Division, Camp Murray, WA

Ms. Corina Allen, Washington Geological Survey, Olympia, WA

Mr. Alex Dolcimascolo, Washington Geological Survey, Olympia, WA

NOAA

Dr. Grant Cooper, NWS Western Region Director, Salt Lake City, UT

Mr. Mike Angove⁵, Tsunami Program, NOAA/NWS Headquarters, Silver Spring, MD

Mr. Ian Sears⁵, NOAA/National Weather Service HQ, Silver Spring, MD

Mr. Christopher Moore³, NOAA PMEL, Seattle, WA

Dr. James Gridley¹, NTWC Director, Palmer, AK

Dr. Summer Ohlendorf¹, NTWC Science Officer, Palmer, AK

Ms. Christa von Hillebrandt, ITIC Caribbean Office, Mayagüez, PR

Mr. Dave Snider¹, NTWC Tsunami Warning Coordinator, Palmer, AK

Mr. Nic Arcos⁴, NCEI, Boulder, CO

FEMA

None

<u>USGS</u>

Ms. Stephanie Ross, U.S. Geological Survey, Moffett Field, CA

Dr. Nate Wood, U.S. Geological Survey, Portland, OR

Quorum met

¹Coord. Comm member, NOAA employee, non-voting, ² Guest, one-time, non-voting, ³Alternate for primary CC member (guest), ⁴ Regular guest, non-voting status, ⁵Exofficio, non-voting member

2. Welcome, Announcements, and call the meeting to order:

4:03 pm meeting called to order.

NTHMP Chair announce Ray Tanabe, NWS Pacific Region Director, will become the new NTHMP chair at the January meeting

3. [VOTE] Approval of Coordinating Committee Minutes

Sep 15 Minutes: Grant Cooper

With no dissent, the minutes were approved.

4. [DISCUSSION] Tsunami Hazard Simplification. LaDuke

NWS is committed to transparency and continuous communication during this process

WCS went over the recommendation

It is noted that education and material updates will need a huge undertaking

Discussed Washington's FY22 Deep Dive task and how it will inform the change process

Will add concurrence language from Guam regarding NWS Pacific Region comments

Will note Volcanic Ash will remain as an Advisory

5. [VOTE] Tsunami Hazard Simplification recommendation.

Vote to accept the WCS Tsunami Hazard Simplification document capturing all feedback and recommendations for transmission from the NTHMP chair to the NWS.

With no dissent and one abstention, the WCS recommendation document regarding Tsunami Hazard Simplification is accepted by the NTHMP Coordinating Committee for transmission from the NTHMP chair to the NWS

6. [DISCUSSION] NRI -

Discussion on updates and language in the letter regarding NTHMP concerns with National Risk Index from the NTHMP Chair to FEMA.

7. [VOTE] NRI -

Vote to accept the letter regarding NTHMP concerns with the National Risk Index for transmission from the NTHMP Chair to FEMA.

With no dissent, the letter regarding NTHMP concerns with National Risk Index from the NTHMP Chair to FEMA is accepted by the NTHMP Coordinating Committee for transmission from the NTHMP chair to FEMA

8. [DISCUSSION] - FY22 Grants

All NTHMP FY22 Grants should be awarded and funded.

9. [DISCUSSION] - FY23 Grants

Discussed possible changes to FY24 grants moving to a 2-year cycle.

10. [DISCUSSION] - NTHMP Winter Meeting

Discussed meeting agenda, location, and dates.

The rest of the meeting was deferred due to time constraints

Will include most recent subcommittee notes if available

11. MES update – MES Co-chair

Meeting minutes

12. MRPWG update – MRPWG Co-chair

None

MMS update – MMS Co-chair
 Meeting minutes

14. WCS update – WCS Co-chair
Meeting minutes

- 15. Island Caucus IC Co-Chair
- 16. Old Business none
- 17. New Business none